Two Stories of Immigration

Over the past couple of years, I’ve tried to bring my reading game back to what was in the past.  Reading opens your mind and your heart to worlds beyond your own.  It’s the opportunity to travel the world and across time, as well as meet new people.  I believe it is also how we develop empathy for others.  Two books I’ve read during the pandemic are great examples of giving readers the chance to walk in someone else’s shoes and develop empathy.  Both American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins and Call Me American by Abdi Nor Iftin, chronicle the immigration experience, though with notable differences. 

American Dirt is a work of fiction.  It tells the story of a mother, Lydia, and her son, Luca, who are forced to flee their home in Mexico in order to avoid death by the cartel.  The reader experiences a mother’s love and what she will do to protect not only her child, but others who are vulnerable.  You get a glimpse into the many reasons why someone may make the dangerous trek through Mexico, up from Central America and into the hot, arid borderlands of the United States.  In addition to the many reasons why people emigrate, the reader experiences the challenges along the way.  As I devoured this book, I had to keep reminding myself that it was fiction.  But then again, was it really?

Call Me American was an unexpected surprise.  I had gotten my hands on an advanced copy at the North Texas Teen Book Festival in March, right before the world came to a screeching halt.  I’ll admit, I wasn’t drawn to it right away, but when I started, I could not put this book down.  Call Me American is a memoir about a young Somali man and his journey to America.  Unlike American Dirt, Abdi Iftin’s journey began as a young boy in the 1990s, at the onset of the civil war in Somalia.  I’m embarrassed to say, I never really paid attention to the conflict in Somalia.  I knew it was a war-torn country and that there was some American involvement, but other than that, I don’t remember much else.  Call Me American is a firsthand account of growing up in Mogadishu and the desire for immigration it created early on in the life of Abdi Iftin.  Unlike Lydia from American Dirt, Abdi’s journey to America is a long, drawn out process.  Like Lydia, Abdi’s decision is based on the violence that has torn his family apart.  As a young Muslim growing up in Mogadishu, he realizes neither of his two options for the future, joining the military or becoming a sheikh, are for him.  With some exposure to the American cinema and the western world, including the ability to learn English, Abdi is intent on finding a way to America.  Over the course of many years, several challenges, and the help of many people, Abdi does make it to America.

Both of these books offer us a glimpse into the world of immigration though the two stories told are incredibly different.  A young man fulfilling a lifelong dream of coming to America versus a mother fleeing in the middle of the night with her son.  Although it pains him, Abdi leaves his family behind while Lydia flees her homeland, because no family remains.  One is a piece of fiction and the other is a memoir.  But both chronicle the unimaginable challenges, violence and unbearable decisions people find themselves forced to face.  Reading either of these novels will cause the reader to think deeply about immigration and hopefully, develop empathy for those who make these difficult decisions every day. 

Last Child in the Woods

At giftED 20, one of the keynotes mentioned the book Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv. I don’t really remember the context, but I remember thinking, this sounds intriguing and I need to make sure I ask my colleague Outdoor Amy about it. Of course, she knew exactly who I was talking about…

Girl Power

Last year, at the beginning of the pandemic, one of my friends started an online book club for her 12 year old daughter and her friends. Loving a good book and needing to connect with people outside of the millions of Zoom calls for work, I joined in. We ended up reading three books: Amal…

Don’t Stress!

Welcome to NAGT’s first newsletter!  Our goal is to send something out to members every month.  The format and content may vary each time, but the ultimate goal is to provide our members helpful information, resources and ideas for navigating life with their gifted learner(s). Since the holidays are upon us and our stress level…

Leave a comment